Shane Ivey wrote:If the impact is a surpriseÃ³you donÃt see it until the round when itÃs going to hitÃ³you must have Coordination dice equal to or greater than the damage to see it coming. See the impact chart for dice equivalents.
The impact defense roll has to be declared in a combat roundÃ³you canÃt just freely scrap something else youÃre rolling to reduce impact damage. Some relevant stats and skills include Body+Endurance, Body+Jumping and Coordination+Acrobatics.
I like that high coordination gives you a chance for a defense roll even if you don't see it coming (can't remember if that was in the original rules, don't have my book with me right now). Cool!
But those two paragraphs seem to contradict each other, in the case where you don't see it coming but have high enough Coord. In such a case, how can you have declared Coordination + Acrobatics or similar action, since you didn't see the impact coming? Is it a matter of being able to use extra matching sets that you happened to roll? Or of always declaring a Coordination + Acrobatics multiple action "just in case"?
I'd be tempted to rule that in this case, you can
scrap something else you're rolling, as long as you haven't already resolved the action for it.